Akpabio elected senate president


THE candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the Senate presidency, Godswill Akpabio, has been voted the 10th Senate president.

Akpabio has consequently been sworn in as the president of the 10th assembly.

The Akwa Ibom Nouth-West Senator-elect won the Senate President election on Tuesday, June 13.

He garnered 63 votes out of the 109 total ballots casts, defeating the Zamfara West Senator-elect, Abdul’aziz Yari, who had 46 total votes.

The voting commenced at the Red Chamber in Abuja, Nigeria, at 8:45 and ended at 09:15 am.

Akpabio is former Governor of Akwa Ibom. He also served as the Minister for Niger Delta Affairs from 2019 to 2022. He represents Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial zone in the 10th National Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here